<span class="highlight">Trak</span> <span class="highlight">Shak</span> model differences

Submitted: Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 22:28
ThreadID: 73886 Views:7258 Replies:8 FollowUps:4

Related Pages

Hi guys another question on Trak Shaks

We are currently searching for an Aussie made Trak Shak preferably made between 1998 and 2004.

With 7 in the family (5 kids under 7!) we are thinking we should go for the
model with queen size beds and with the largest floor space (at least one of the kids will need to sleep on the floor & on rainy days we will need as much space as possible).

Can anyone tell me the difference in the floor length (from door to trailer/bed)
between the standard length models (double bed Midway & queen bed Hybrid) and the extended length models (queen size Deluxe). The actual measurements of each would be great if anyone has them tucked away.

Also if there are three windows on the side wall, does that always mean it is
the extended annexe? In recent times I've seen Midway Trak Shaks advertised with both two and three windows on the side wall, yet my searching the net only comes up with the Midway model having a standard length.

many thanks in advance

Reply By: Geoff - the first - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 07:53

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 07:53
Hello portlester,

We had the Deluxe for about 7 years while the kids were younger.
We have 2 kids. You have 5.
My advice...........don't muck around. Get the Deluxe.
The floor of the tent section of the Deluxe is about 3.2m square.
I think the midway was about 2.8m wide x 3.2m long.
The hybrid was a cross between the Standard and the Deluxe, and will be something like 3.2m wide x 2.5m long. (All dimensions from memory).
If the weather turns nasty, with 5 kids you'll need all the inside floor area you can get. The number of windows in the side walls doesn't always indicate length of tent. Ours was built in 1997, and had 2 windows in the side walls. I've seen later units with 3.

There was also an option of an extra room under the flip over section.

AnswerID: 391963

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:56

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:56
Geoff and Ian,

I have a 1996 Midway bought new. Again from memory I think you are on the money with dimensions Geoff.

Love the TS even though ours could do with more windows. Ours is the same as yours Geoff. We actually suggested to Peter that extra windows would be a good idea so I claim some credit for that innovation.

FollowupID: 659988

Reply By: cruza25 - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 11:39

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 11:39
http://www.campertrailers.org/camper_trader538.htm

just spotted this if its any help

nothing to do with me - just read it myself and thought relevent to your post

good luck with your search

we have an adventure pilbara made here in adelaide, suits us with 3 kids but 5 would be a squeeze unless they sleep in a tent next door

mike
AnswerID: 391973

Reply By: cruza25 - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 11:42

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 11:42
http://www.campertrailers.org/camper_trader.htm

full list of what is for sale

great site to research

mike
AnswerID: 391974

Reply By: olcoolone - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 14:55

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 14:55
We have a Trak Shak thats for sale, Aussie made and in extremely good condition...we rebuilt it about 3 years age with no expenses spared and it's been sitting in our shed not getting used.

It has many improvements and upgrades.

It's the one with the longer floor and two double beds.

We bought an Ultimate about 6 months ago and haven't got around to sell the Trak Shak yet.

AnswerID: 391989

Follow Up By: john robson - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:43

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:43
Sorry olcoolone

I just noticed yours has double beds..... I'm looking for a deluxe with Queen Size beds.

Sorry

FollowupID: 659979

Follow Up By: john robson - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:43

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:43
Sorry olcoolone

I just noticed yours has double beds..... I'm looking for a deluxe with Queen Size beds.

Sorry

FollowupID: 659980

Reply By: john robson - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:38

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:38
G'day olcoolone

I've been searching for Trak Shak Deluve for some months !!
Can you pls tell me what you've got & how much you want for it ? I'm not a tyre kicker !!!

Thanks lots

robsonjohn2001@yahoo.com
AnswerID: 391997

Reply By: Mark Howlett - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 00:14

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 00:14
Hi Ian,

I think ours is the standard and we travelled for 6 months last year with our 2 kids. Even ours has heaps of room BUT we found whenever we had to go into a caravan park it was always a squeeze because of the length of it when folded out and no doubt the bigger ones would be worse. I remember leaving one park because we simply couldn't fit in!

Mark.
AnswerID: 392112

Reply By: portlester - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 09:27

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 09:27
Thanks everyone for your replies.

Mapping out the different sizes on the floor the extra length of the Deluxe is quite alot and will come in handy. Although I would prefer a smaller footprint for the camper for those odd times we are in a caravan park (we prefer to get away from the crowds whenever possible), I think with 5 young kids we will really need the extra space of the Deluxe.

Now we just need to find the right one.

Thanks again.

AnswerID: 392144

Follow Up By: Geoff - the first - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 17:26

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 17:26
Ian,

I doubt you'll ever regret going for the Deluxe.
We stayed in van parks many times.
Yes, some sites were tight for space, but we always managed to squeeze on.
May I suggest you look for a unit with the under bed room. I reckon it would be great for your young tribe.

Happy hunting.

FollowupID: 660103

Reply By: blueriderwa - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 20:18

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 20:18
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Advertising/Self-Promotion Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 392360